Craving

The root cause of any action is the feeling of incompletion in us. That we feel ourselves as limited is the cause of this feeling of incompletion. We believe that by doing a particular thing at this point of time, I will become a bit more complete. The indicator of ‘bit more complete’ is experience of happiness.

Let us take an example. I have a craving of eating sweet today. I am getting desperate for it. All my thoughts are getting increasingly centred on it. I subsequently eat a sweet. I feel happiness and my craving for sweet is vanished. So much so that the smell of sweet is now repelling me. I am happy now. But after two days, I again get this very same craving. Thus, the action of eating sweet two days back temporarily relieved me of my craving by making me feel a bit more complete. The incompletion whose basis was the thought that sweet is apart from me because I am a limited being, went away for some time, and conequently I felt happy.

But two days hence, I am back to square one.

So, where does the solution of this craving lie? To go on satisfying it as and when it arises through same contact-based events? Is it an intelligent way to deal with craving? Is it the only way of living and dealing with craving?

No! The answer is an emphatic ‘No’ by Shruti.

It says that the root cause of craving is not the absence of contact-based event which you intend to resort to. It is rather your belief about yourself as a limited being. Because of this feeling of limitation, incompletion follows. And thence start actions. Shruti says that you are not limited. Take it as a matter of fact. That you and this world are not different rather one and same. That you are unlimited and infinite. When everything is you yourself which is one, so much so that the concept of two is illogical, then how can you have craving/attachment/delusion.

Shruti states this matter of fact which is experientially witnessed by us every day (when?). Thus, the answer by Shruti to deal with craving is not satisfaction thereof through contact-based events but cognition and realization of non-existence of our limitation.

Related posthttps://sudhanshushekhar.wordpress.com/2012/12/25/source-of-happiness/

One thought on “Craving

Leave a Reply

